First Broken Bones

When I was younger, I believed that I could do anything and that I was invincible. Being young, I never once thought that anything could go wrong or that I would never be in any kind of danger being surrounded by people that I know. All of that changed in a blink of an eye, seconds passed and everything went from fun and games to pain. I never experienced any sort of agony that could ever compare to that. My whole perspective of the world and life changed after this eventful day.

Even though this day was around six or seven years ago, I remember that whole day like it was yesterday. It was a rather chilly day in late March or early April and the sun was shining bright. It was the last game of basketball of the season, we finished with a winning record, but we unfortunately didn’t make the playoffs. After every season, we would go to my coach’s house and have a big party with all my other teammates and their families. At the time, we were all young boys and full of energy, majority of us were running around with no fear of the world. We soon then decided to play football, but midway through the game of football the rules somehow changed to tackle.

We were all taking each other to the ground and piling up on top each other afterwards when someone was on the ground with the ball. It had to be the third or fourth time that I had gotten the ball was the moment that changed in my life drastically. The adrenaline was pumping through my body when I got the ball, trying not to get tackled as I ran down the field until I came to a sudden stop. I ran into one of my good friends, he was much taller and bigger than I was at the time and easily started pushing me back the way I came from. With assistance from another one of my friends, they forced me to the ground. While falling, I stuck out my hands to lessen the impact I was doomed to take. With my luck my hand landed awkwardly with my fingers hitting the ground first and completely bending them in the wrong direction. At first I thought nothing of it, instant pain but I didn’t think anything was wrong. A minute later, only sheer pain filled my hand.

Never have I ever felt pain like this, my fingers swelled up so quickly that they were unable to bend inward. I knew nothing back then and all I thought about was how I wasn’t going to be able to use my fingers ever again. My parents rushed me to the hospital, after sitting there for hours I came to find out that I fractured the metacarpals of my three middle fingers on my right hand in 6 different spot amongst them. Nothing to this day has ever come close to the pain that I felt this day. It majorly changed how I view everyday life and how anything could happen in the blink of an eye.

Leave a comment